Minnesota Indian Affairs Council

Minnesota Indian Affairs Council
Agency overview
Formed1963 (1963)
Preceding agency
  • Indian Affairs Intertribal Board
HeadquartersSaint Paul, Minnesota Bemidji, Minnesota
Agency executive
  • Shannon Geshick, Executive Director
Parent departmentMinnesota Legislature

The Minnesota Indian Affairs Council (MIAC) was created by the Minnesota Legislature in 1963 to provide a liaison between the government of Minnesota and the American Indian tribes in the state.[1] The council also brings issues of concern to Indians living in urban areas to the attention of the state government. It was the first state-level Indian affairs agency to be established in the United States.[2]

Mission and vision

The mission of MIAC is "to protect the sovereignty of the 11 Minnesota tribes and ensure the well-being of all American Indian citizens throughout the state of Minnesota."[1] The organization's vision, as given in a 2020 report by Wilder Research, is "to strive for social, economic, and political justice for all American Indian people living in Minnesota, while embracing our traditional cultural and spiritual values."[3]

Tribal nations

The council communicates with governments of eleven Indian reservations recognized by the United States federal government.[1] Seven are Anishinaabe (Chippewa, Ojibwe) reservations and four are Dakota (Sioux) communities, listed below:

  • Bois Forte Indian Reservation (Zagaakwaandagowininiwag)
  • Fond du Lac Indian Reservation (Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong)
  • Grand Portage Indian Reservation (Gichi-Onigaming)
  • Leech Lake Indian Reservation (Gaa-zagaskwaabiganikaag)
  • Lower Sioux Indian Reservation (Cansa'yapi)
  • Mille Lacs Indian Reservation (Misi-zaaga'iganiing)
  • Prairie Island Indian Community (Tinta Winta)
  • Red Lake Indian Reservation (Mis-Qua-Mi-Saga-Eh-Ganing)
  • Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community (Medwakanton)
  • Upper Sioux Indian Reservation (Pezihutazizi Oyate)
  • White Earth Indian Reservation (Gaa-waabaabiganikaag)

The Ho-chunk Nation and the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe are absent, though the six component members of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe have been included in MIAC.


  1. ^ a b c "MN Indian Affairs Council: Home". mn.gov. Retrieved 2020-07-06.
  2. ^ "Indian Affairs Council". www.leg.state.mn.us. Retrieved 2020-07-06.
  3. ^ "Minnesota Indian Affairs Council". Wilder Foundation. 2020-03-19. Retrieved 2020-07-06.

External links