Midlands of South Carolina

The eight counties that usually compose the Midlands.

The Midlands region of South Carolina is the middle area of the state. The region's main center is Columbia, the state's capital. The Midlands is so named because it is halfway point between the Upstate and the Lowcountry. The main area code is 803.

The area has become a major business center in the state, for its growing production of paper products, textile, medical supplies and steel. It is also a center for farming and medical care. The area is also involved in attractions and tourism, featuring shopping, fishing and amusement.


The Midlands area of South Carolina includes at least these eight counties:

Usually included

This region is largely coextensive with the Columbia metropolitan area (which includes Newberry and Orangeburg counties and excludes Sumter County). The Columbia television and radio market includes the eight core counties plus Lee, Clarendon and Newberry.

The middle portion of Orangeburg County is located in the Midlands, while the western part is located in the Central Savannah River Area and the eastern part is considered to be located in the Lowcountry. Other than being designated to the Augusta, GA market, Aiken County is also frequently listed as part of the Central Savannah River Area.


Columbia skyline coming from North Main St.

Primary cities

(including county and 2006 census bureau population estimates)

Suburban towns and cities over 10,000 in population

(including county and 2006 census bureau population estimates)

Suburbs with less than 10,000 inhabitants

(including county and 2006 census bureau population estimates)

Unincorporated communities

(2000 Census Figures)

  • Dentsville, Richland 13,009
  • Gadsden, Richland
  • Hopkins, Richland 13,025
  • Lake Murray of Richland, Richland 3,526
  • Lugoff, Kershaw 6,278
  • Mitford, Fairfield
  • Seven Oaks, Lexington 15,755
  • St. Andrews, Richland 21,814
  • Woodfield, Richland 9,238

Higher education


The region is served by four commercial television stations, WLTX CBS 19, WOLO ABC 25, WACH FOX 57, and WIS 10.

The state's second largest newspaper, The State, is published here.

Major highways

  • Interstate 20
  • Interstate 77
  • Interstate 95
  • Interstate 26
  • Interstate 126
  • US 321
  • US 21
  • US Route 1
  • US 76
  • US 176
  • US 178
  • US 378
  • US 15
  • US 301
  • US 601
  • US 521
  • SC 277
  • SC 12
  • SC 34
  • SC 261


Coordinates:34°04′N 81°05′W / 34.06°N 81.08°W / 34.06; -81.08

Media files used on this page