Florence, South Carolina metropolitan area

Location of the Florence Metropolitan Statistical Area in South Carolina

As defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget and used by the U.S. Census Bureau for statistical purposes only,[1] the Florence Metropolitan Statistical Area, is an area consisting of two counties in the Pee Dee region of northeastern South Carolina, anchored by the city of Florence. As of the 2000 census, the MSA had a population of 193,155 (though a July 1, 2009 estimate placed the population at 200,653).[2]



  • Coward
  • Darlington
  • Florence (Principal city)
  • Hartsville
  • Johnsonville
  • Lake City
  • Lamar
  • North Hartsville (census-designated place)
  • Olanta
  • Pamplico
  • Quinby
  • Scranton
  • Society Hill
  • Timmonsville


As of the census[3] of 2000, there were 193,155 people, 72,940 households, and 52,245 families residing within the MSA. The racial makeup of the MSA was 58.07% White, 40.16% African American, 0.21% Native American, 0.53% Asian, 0.01% Pacific Islander, 0.39% from other races, and 0.62% from two or more races. Hispanic or Latino of any race were 1.06% of the population.

The median income for a household in the MSA was $33,116, and the median income for a family was $39,468. Males had a median income of $31,506 versus $21,452 for females. The per capita income for the MSA was $17,080.

See also

  • South Carolina census statistical areas


  1. ^ See section 5 for definition and proper use of Metropolitan Statistical Area Archived 2017-01-21 at the Wayback Machine
  2. ^ "Table 1. Annual Estimates of the Population of Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas: April 1, 2000 to July 1, 2009 (CBSA-EST2009-01)". 2009 Population Estimates. United States Census Bureau, Population Division. 2010-03-23. Archived from the original (CSV) on 2010-03-26. Retrieved 2010-03-24.
  3. ^ "U.S. Census website". United States Census Bureau. Retrieved 2008-01-31.

Media files used on this page