Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
PredecessorManitoba Indian Brotherhood
Headquarters137-476 Madison St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 1J1
Grand Chief
Arlen Dumas
Main organ

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC; preceded by the Manitoba Indian Brotherhood) is an association that advocates on issues affecting First Nations in Manitoba. Representing 62 of the 63 First Nations in the province, it advocates on behalf of over 151,000 First Nation citizens in Manitoba.[1]

The Grand Chief is Arlen Dumas (born 1975),[2] who is from Mathias Colomb Cree Nation in Pukatawagan. Dumas was elected on 19 July 2017, winning on an unprecedented first ballot with 33 of 54 possible votes.[3]


Preceding the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs was the Manitoba Indian Brotherhood (MIB; later renamed the First Nations Confederacy), which was created in the late 1960s as a province-wide body to provide a common voice for First Nations in Manitoba.[4]

The MIB presented their landmark position paper—entitled, "Wahbung: Our Tomorrows"[5]—in opposition to then-Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau's 1969 White Paper which proposed the abolition of the Indian Act. The federal government at the time argued that the Indian Act was discriminatory and that the special legal relationship between Aboriginal peoples and the Canadian state should be dismantled in favour of equality, in accordance with Trudeau's vision of a "just society." The federal government proposed that by eliminating "Indian" as a distinct legal status, the resulting equality among all Canadians would help resolve the problems faced by Indigenous peoples. After opposition from many Indigenous leaders—including the MIB—the white paper was abandoned in 1970.[6][7] The MIB paper was presented to Trudeau and the Government of Canada in 1971.[5]

The body would dissolve by the early 1980s due to the difficulties of an increasingly elaborate agenda and emerging regional interests. An "All Chiefs Unity Assembly" eventually convened in 1987 to adopt by consensus a statement of principles of political unity. That year, Louis Stevenson was appointed as the first Provincial Leader for the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. In 1988, the Chiefs-in-Assembly formulated a model for province-wide political cooperation among the First Nations, thereby establishing the basic structure and mandate for the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs and its secretariat.[4]

In 1990, the title of Provincial Leader for the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs was changed to Grand Chief of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs.[4] In September 1994, the AMC adopted its constitution.[8]


Grand Chiefs of the AMC[1]
Term / Year electedGrand Chief[i]Nation
1987–1989Louis StevensonPeguis First Nation
1989–1997Phil FontaineSagkeeng First Nation
1997–2000Rod BushieHollow Water First Nation
2000–2005Dennis White BirdRolling River First Nation
1996, 2005, 2008Ron EvansNorway House Cree Nation
2011Derek NepinakMinegoziibe Anishinabe (Pine Creek First Nation)
2017 (incumbent)Arlen DumasMathias Colomb Cree Nation

Mandated organizations

The mandated organizations of AMC include:[9]

  • Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre (MFNERC), established in 1998
  • Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba (TRCM), opened in 2005
  • First Peoples Economic Growth Fund, established in 2005
  • First Peoples Development Inc. (FPDI), established in 2012
  • First Nations Health and Social Secretariat of Manitoba, established in 2013

See also


  1. ^ a b "About". Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. Retrieved 2021-07-30.
  2. ^ AMC. "Grand Chief's Office". Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. Retrieved 2021-07-30.
  3. ^ "Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs". Retrieved 25 February 2014.
  4. ^ a b c AMC. "History & Mandate". Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. Retrieved 2021-07-30.
  5. ^ a b Wahbung: Our Tomorrows, October 1971
  6. ^ Kirkness, Verna (2008), "Wahbung: Our Tomorrows – 37 Years Later", UBC Open Library, Vancouver, BC, retrieved July 13, 2016
  7. ^ Courchene (Nh Gaani Aki mini—Leading Earth Man), Dave (October 1971), "Wahbung: The Position Paper: a return to the Beginning for our Tomorrows: An Elder's Perspective" (PDF), Anishnabe Nation, Eagle Clan Sagkeeng First Nation, p. 8, retrieved July 13, 2016
  8. ^ Constitution of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
  9. ^ Hunter, Chris. "Mandated Organizations". Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. Retrieved 2021-07-30.


  1. ^ Known as Provincial Leader until 1990.

External links